- Municipal Court
- Defensive Driving Course
Defensive Driving Course
Certain offenses, CDL license holders and persons under the age of 25 may not qualify for this option. Visit the State of Texas Driving Safety Course website for more information.
Requesting Driving Safety Course
Any person under the age of 25 shall be required to complete a driver’s safety course pursuant to Art. 45.051 (b-1) of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure.
A request to take a safety course must be made prior to your scheduled court appearance on your citation or at your scheduled court appearance. The request must be made in person or in writing. Payments of the State costs and administrative fees must be submitted with your request.
Driving Safety Course Eligibility
View the driving safety course request form (PDF). To qualify you must meet the following terms:
- You must have a valid Texas Driver’s License or if you are a member or spouse/dependant of the United States Military forces serving on active duty
- You must have current proof of financial responsibility (insurance)
- You must not have taken a safety course within past 12 months
- You cannot have taken a safety course for dismissal of another citation or be in the process of taking the course for another traffic violation and said course is not reflected on your driving record
- You cannot have a Commercial Driver’s License or have been charged with an offense in a construction zone, school zone or speeding 25 miles or more over the posted speed limit.
Requirements If Determined Eligible
You must provide the following:
- A plea of Guilty or No Contest
- Pay the applicable costs and fees (call for amount due)-fee is due at time of request
- File an affidavit with the Court stating you have met the above requirements
- You must obtain a copy of your driving record from the Department of Public Safety (DPS)
You must complete the following after your request has been granted:
- A Texas Education Agency approved course within 90 days of request
- Submit by the 90th day from request a uniform certificate of course completion of safety course
- Copy of driving record as maintained by the Texas Department of Public Safety
After successful completion of the safety course, the Court will dismiss the case and report to the Texas Department of Public Safety for inclusion on your driving record.
If you fail to provide the Court with your certificate within time allowed, you will be summoned to Court to show cause as to why your certificate was not returned. If you do not appear for your hearing it may result in the issuance of additional charges and a capias pro fine warrant issued.
E-filed certificates and driving records are now accepted. Course providers that participate in e-filing will have that option listed on their website. Not all courses e-file.