Time Payment Plans & 30 Day Extensions
Time Payment Plans
Any person receiving a citation may request time to pay his/her fine by completing a financial affidavit. Use of the payment plan or extension may result in a guilty conviction as required by law and may result in State surcharges. You will be required to:
- Bring a state issued Identification Card or Driver’s License (If you cannot provide one you may be required to appear at a schedule court date)
- Fill out a financial affidavit (Information provided is subject to verification) incomplete affidavits will not be accepted and your request will be denied
- Interview may be conducted based on the information you have provided to determine your eligibility to pay
- At the time of your request $100 is required minimum down to begin payment plan
The amount of payments and due dates will be determined by the clerk. It is your responsibility to notify the court if you are unable to pay within the time allowed. You may request a court date and have an opportunity to explain your circumstances to the Judge if you need additional time to pay.
Alternative Options-Financial Hardship/Indigent
The Judge shall inquire if you have sufficient resources to pay all or part of the fine and costs and, if Judge determines that you do not, the Judge shall determine that fine and costs should be:
- Paid on time payment plan
- Discharged by community service
- Waived in full or part
- Any combination of all methods
The Court will hear sworn testimony and look at your documentation concerning your financial situation to help you resolve this matter. Community service options have been expanded by the Texas Legislature to include:
- Attending work and job skills training
- A preparatory class for high school equivalency exam
- Service at an educational institution
If the request for additional time to pay is granted, the $25 time payment fee will be assessed required by State Law. Per Chapter 51 of The Texas Government Code, a $25 fee is added to each violation when granted an extension to pay which exceeds 30 days. If any portion of the fines, fees and costs is paid after the 31st day from the date of judgment, the $25 time payment fee must be added as required by law.
30 Day Extensions
Any person receiving a citation may request time to pay his/her fine by completing a financial affidavit and may request 30 days to pay all fines and fees in full to avoid the time payment fee. If any portion of the fines, fees and costs is paid after the 31st day from the date of judgment, the $25 time payment fee must be added as required by law.
Use of the 30 day extension to pay will result in a guilty conviction as required by law.